Faculty Designated to Approve Orals Lists

Faculty Designated to Approve MA and PhD Orals Lists

Period exams are generally approved by the chair of the relevant area committee.  In cases where the designated person is on leave and unavailable either for spring consultation or fall approval, another appropriate faculty member may be called on for either or both of these roles.  Any questions about approval should be referred to the Director of Graduate Studies. 

Note: All MA orals lists should have ten primary and two secondary works;

All PhD orals lists should have forty primary and six or so secondary works (except Theory and Textual Studies, which should each have forty works in all).


Medieval / Renaissance:  Dan Kinney

Restoration and 18th Century: John O'Brien

19th Century British​: Herbert Tucker

19th Century American: Emily Ogden

Modern and Contemporary: Michael Levenson

American: Victoria Olwell

African-American Studies: Marlon Ross

Autobiography: Alison Booth

Drama: John O'Brien

Epic: Dan Kinney

History of Criticism: Walter Jost

Latinx: Carmen Lamas

Literature and Environmental Studies: Dan Kinney

Lyric: Herbert Tucker

Multiethnic American: Caroline Rody

Novel: Stephen Arata

Poetry and Poetics: Herbert Tucker

Romance: Clare Kinney

Textual Studies/History of the Book: David Vander Meulen

Theory and Criticism:

  • Cultural Studies: Rita Felski
  • Feminist Theory: Susan Fraiman
  • Film/Media: Sylvia Chong
  • Marxism: Rita Felski
  • Postcolonial Studies: Mrinalini Chakravorty
  • Poststructuralism: Bruce Holsinger
  • Psychoanalysis: Mark Edmundson
  • Queer Theory: Marlon Ross
  • Race/Ethnicity: Marlon Ross